Zee Cine Awards 2014: Shah Rukh Khan, Deepika Padukone’s Chennai Express outruns Farhan Akhtar (NDTV NEWS)

Posted: February 24, 2014 in News

The Zee Cine Awards 2014, which were held on February 8 in Mumbai, were telecast to primetime audiences on February 23. The star studded event was hosted by Abhishek Bachchan and Ritesh Deshmukh with Shah Rukh Khan handling a few segments.

Deepika Padukone, Ranveer Singh, Sonakshi Sinha, Yo Yo Honey Singh and Akshay Kumar enthralled the audiences with their performances while the hosts had a fun time exploring the backstage areas and interacting with various celebrities through the show.

Shah Rukh and Deepika won the Best Actor and Actress awards in the Popular segment while Farhan and Sonakshi bagged the Jury awards. The trend continued with Chennai Express winning Best Popular Film while Bhaag Milkha Bhaag won the jury award.

Some of the highlights were Ram-Leela co-stars Ranveer and Deepika performing Ang laga le re together, Akshay Kumar raising a placard thanking Zee for the chance to perform (he was also shown attacking Abhishek and Ritesh backstage in a segment) and Ranveer’s tribute performance which celebrated every major Bollywood hero from the era of Dharmendra and Rajesh Khanna to Shah Rukh Khan.

Here is a complete list of winners from the event.

Best Film (Popular) – Chennai Express

Best Film (Jury) – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Director (Popular) – Ayan Mukerji for Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Best Director (Jury) – Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra for Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Actor (Male) Popular – Shahrukh Khan for Chennai Express

Best Actor (Male) Jury – Farhan Akhtar for Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Actor (Female) Popular – Deepika Padukone for Chennai Express

Best Actor (Female) Jury – Sonakshi Sinha for Lootera

Best Debut Male – Dhanush for Raanjhaana

Best Debut Female – Vaani Kapoor for Shuddh Desi Romance

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) – Rajkummar Rao for Kai Po Che

Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female) – Divya Dutta for Bhaag Milkha Bhaag and Swara Bhaskar for Raanjhanaa

Best Actor In A Negative Role – Supriya Pathak bags it for Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela

Best Actor in a Comic Role – Varun Sharma for Fukrey

Best Debut Director – Ritesh Batra for The Lunchbox

International Icon Male – Yo Yo Honey Singh

International Icon Female – Priyanka Chopra

Best Marketed Film of the Year – Chennai Express

Best Story – Chetan Bhagat for Kai Po Che

Best Screenplay – Ayan Mukerji for Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewaani

Power Club Box Office Award – Grand Masti

Best Dialogue – Himanshu Sharma for Raanjhanaa

Umeed ka naya Chehra (Male) – Vidyut Jammwal

The Song Of The Year – Tum Hi Ho for Aashiqui 2

Best Playback Singer Male – Arijit Singh for Tum Hi Ho

Best Playback Singer Female – Shreya Ghoshal for Sunn Raha Hai

Best Lyrics – Mithoon for Aashiqui 2

Best Music – Jeet Ganguly, Mithoon and Ankit Tewari for Aashiqui 2

Best Background Score – Pritam for Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Best Choreography – Remo D’souza for Badtameez Dil in Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Stree Samman Award – Farah Khan

Most Influential Bollywood Personality on Social Media – Shahrukh Khan

Best Cinematography – S Ravi Varman for Goliyon Ki Raasleela Ram-Leela

Best Visual Effects – Red Chillies VFX for Krrish 3

Best Action – Sham Kaushal, Conrad Palmisano for Dhoom 3

Best Editing – Arif Sheikh for D-Day

Best Sound Design – Madras Café

Best Visual Effects – Red Chillies for Krrish 3

Best Production Design – Snigdha Basu, Sumit Basu, Rajnish Hedao for Dhoom 3


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s